Skip to content

News & Events

Division of Biology 2016 Grad Student Awards

April 26, 2016

The Division of Biology has announced the winners of the 2016 Graduate Student Awards!  Congratulations, all!
Alexander Hollaender Graduate Fellowship:
Rachel Wooliver (EEB, Schweitzer Lab)
Ian Ware (EEB, Bailey Lab)
Fite Award:
Zach Marion (EEB, Fitzpatrick Lab)
Kristin Holbrook (BCMB)
Caroline Rempe (GST)
Cokkinias Award:
Arkadipta Bakshi (BCMB)
Biology Teaching Award:
Chelsi Cassilly (Micro)

Teaching Award for Schussler

April 21, 2016

Associate Professor Beth Schussler received an Alumni Outstanding Teacher Award at the Chancellor’s Honors Banquet this week. There were only 4 recipients of the award across the entire campus.  Congratulations!

Yates Fellowship for Fovargue

April 20, 2016

Rachel Fovargue (Armsworth Lab) has received a 2016-2017 Yates Dissertation Fellowship! The fellowships provide recognition and financial support to outstanding doctoral students in all fields of study at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville during the dissertation process.  Congratulations, Rachel!

NSF Postdoctoral Fellowship for Heberling

April 20, 2016

Postdoc J. Mason Heberling (Kalisz Lab) has been awarded a two-year National Science Foundation postdoctoral fellowship.  The proposal, entitled “Leveraging ventures of herbarium data to track plant invasion processes: trait shifts, local adaptation, and rapid evolution,” was funded by NSF’s Postdoctoral Research Fellowship in Biology, Interdisciplinary Research Using Biological Collections program.
The host institutions for this ...

McKenzie Receives Honorable Mention for Prestigious Scholarship

April 18, 2016

Undergraduate Patrick McKenzie received an honorable mention in the highly prestigious Goldwater Scholarship program.  Students cannot apply directly for the scholarship; they must be nominated by their institution.  To be selected among all his peers at UT and then to receive an honorable mention at the national level is a testament to his promising research ...

Center for Tree Science Fellowship for Ware

April 14, 2016

Ian Ware (Bailey Lab) has received the Center for Tree Science Graduate Research Fellowship with the Morton Arboretum.  The fellowship provides $9500 for students to attend the US Forest Service workshop: Gene Conservation of Tree Species, field research funding, and sequencing funding.

Curt Richardson (PhD 1972): Alumni Update

April 14, 2016

Curt Richardson (PhD 1972) is the second person ever to graduate from UT with a PhD in Ecology, and his career after graduating has been impressive!  This is what he had to say:
No question UT put me on the path to a remarkable career, first at the University of Michigan and then at Duke University ...

John Reynolds (PhD 1973): Alumni Update

April 14, 2016

John Reynolds (PhD 1973) was the third person to receive a PhD from the Ecology program at UT.  It is thanks to his input that the department has an alumni blog!  This is what he had to say:
The attached article captures my scientific research up to 2012.  In April, I published a major paper on ...

Teaching Award for Hendy

April 13, 2016

Justin Hendy (Small Lab) received an award for Outstanding Graduate Teaching during the 2016 Graduate and Professional Student Appreciation Week at UT.  He received the award for his work as the BioLit 150 head teaching assistant. To quote the program from the award ceremony:
“Justin has taught Biology 150 discussion sections and has served as the ...

Lash Receives Mountain Lake Biological Station Fellowship

April 11, 2016

Chloe Lash (Kwit Lab) has been awarded a fellowship to conduct research on ant seed dispersal this summer at Mountain Lake Biological Station (MLBS) through the University of Virginia’s Horton H. Hobbs, Jr. Endowment Fund. The fellowship provides up to $3,500 towards room, board, and user fees at the station. There, Chloe will also be ...

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.