People

Full Time Faculty



Paul Armsworth

Associate Professor
(865) 974-9748
Conservation, theoretical ecology p.armsworth@utk.edu


Joseph Bailey

Associate Professor
(865) 974-0864
Plant-animal interactions, evolutionary ecology Joe.Bailey@utk.edu


Christine Boake

Professor
(865) 974-2371
Behavioral evolution, genetics cboake@utk.edu


Gordon Burghardt

Alumni Distinguished Service Professor
(865) 974-3300
Comparative behavior, ethology gburghar@utk.edu


Aimée Classen

Associate Professor
(865) 974-7894
Ecosystem ecology, global change aimee.classen@utk.edu


James Drake

Associate Professor
(865) 974-2371
Community/ theoretical ecology jdrake@utk.edu


Arthur Echternacht

Professor
(865) 974-3065
Ecology, herpetology, vertebrate biology echterna@utk.edu


David Etnier

Emeritus Professor
(865) 974-3065
Ichthyology, aquatic entomology dipnet@utk.edu


Benjamin Fitzpatrick

Associate Professor
(865) 974-9734
Population genetics, conservation biology benfitz@utk.edu


James Fordyce

Associate Professor
(865) 974-2925 Lab: (865) 974-3902
Evolutionary ecology, plant-insect interactions jfordyce@utk.edu


Sergey Gavrilets

Distinguished Professor
(865) 974-8136 Lab: (865) 974-5217
Theoretical evolutionary biology gavrila@tiem.utk.edu


Michael Gilchrist

Associate Professor
(865) 974-6453 Lab: (865) 974-7356
Theoretical evolutionary biology mikeg@utk.edu


Neil Greenberg

Emeritus Professor
(865) 974-3599
Behavioral ecology, physiological ecology ngreenbe@utk.edu


Louis Gross

Professor, Director TIEM, Director NIMBioS
(865) 974-4295
Mathematical ecology gross@tiem.utk.edu, gross@NIMBioS.org


Karen Hughes

Professor
(865) 974-2256
Speciation processes/ hybridization of fungi khughes@utk.edu


Darrin Hulsey

Associate Professor
O: (865) 974-2189 L: (865) 974-1948
Functional morphology, ichthyology, phylogenetics chulsey@utk.edu


Charles Kwit

Assistant Professor
(865) 974-9793
Conservation, wildlife-plant interactions ckwit@utk.edu


P. Brandon Matheny

Associate Professor
(865) 974-8896
Fungal systematics, evolution, historical biogeography pmatheny@utk.edu


Gary McCracken

Professor
(865) 974-3065
Evolutionary ecology, population genetics gmccrack@utk.edu


Brian O’Meara

Assistant Professor
(865) 974-2804
Phylogenetics, macroevolution bomeara@utk.edu


Ronald Petersen

Emeritus Professor
(865) 974-2256
Mycology repete@utk.edu


Susan Riechert

Distinguished Service Professor
O: (865) 974-6187 L: (865) 974-2371
Animal behavior, ecology sriecher@utk.edu


Nathan Sanders

Professor
(865) 974-5231
Community ecology, macroecology nsanders@utk.edu


Edward Schilling

Professor
(865) 974-2256
Plant systematics eschilling@utk.edu


Elisabeth Schussler

Associate Professor, Director of Biology Teaching and Learning
(865) 974-6825
Undergraduate biology education eschuss@utk.edu


Jen Schweitzer

Associate Professor
(865) 974-0856
Community genetics, plant-soil interactions Jen.Schweitzer@utk.edu


Daniel Simberloff

Gore Hunger Professor of Environmental Science
(865) 974-0849
Ecology, biogeography dsimberloff@utk.edu


Randall Small

Associate Professor and Interim Department Head
(865) 974-3065
Plant systematics, molecular evolution rsmall@utk.edu


David Smith

Emeritus Associate Professor

Bryology dsmith22@utk.edu


Joseph Williams Jr.

Associate Professor
(865) 974-6202
Plant evolutionary biology joewill@utk.edu


Eugene Wofford

Research Associate Professor

Vascular plant systematics/ floristics bewofford@utk.edu

Adjunct Faculty



Marshall Adams

Adjunct Professor, ORNL


John B. Rehder

Professor, Geography


David Buehler

Adjunct Professor, Forestry, Wildlife & Fisheries


Joe Clark

Adjunct Faculty Associate, Southern Appalachian Ecosystem Program


Virginia Dale

Adjunct Staff Scientist, ORNL


Don DeAngelis

South Florida/Caribbean Field Laboratory


Boyd Dearden

Adjunct Professor, Forestry, Wildlife & Fisheries


Jake F. Weltzin

Executive Director, USA National Phenology Network


Donita Frazier

Adjunct Associate Professor, Comparative Medicine


Todd Freeberg

Adjunct Associate Professor, Psychology
865-974-3975
tfreeber@utk.edu


Barry Goss

Faculty Associate, Science Applications International Corporation


Jerome Grant

Associate Professor, Entomology and Plant Pathology


Carol Harden

Professor, Geography


Daniel Hayes

Joint Faculty Assistant Professor, ORNL


Sally Horn

Professor, Geography


Henriette Jager

Staff Scientist, ORNL


Paris Lambdin

Professor, Entomology and Plant Pathology


Mike McKinney

Professor, Earth and Planetary Sciences


Richard Norby

Staff Scientist, ORNL


Ken Orvis

Assistant Professor, Geography


Charles Parker

Faculty Associate, Twin Creeks Natural Resource Center


Wilfred Post

Staff Scientist, ORNL


John Rennie

Emeritus Professor, Forestry, Wildlife and Fisheries


Rich Saudargas

Professor, Psychology


Gary Sayler

Professor, Microbiology


Terry Schultz

Emeritus Professor, Animal Science


Richard Strange

Professor, Forestry, Wildlife & Fisheries


Steven W. Wilhelm

Professor, Microbiology


David Weston

Staff Scientist, ORNL


Larry Wilson

Professor, Forestry, Wildlife & Fisheries

Lecturers


Graduate Students



Jeremy Auerbach

jauerbac@utk.edu
Degree: Master's
Faculty Advisor:
Gavrilets


Anna Jo Auerbach

ajone139@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Schussler


Riley Bernard

rbernar3@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
McCracken


Joshua Birkebak

jbirkeba@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Matheny


Jennifer Bosco

jbosco@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Riechert, O'Meara


Lauren Breza

lbreza@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Bailey


Jessica Bryant

jbryan44@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Classen


Melissa Burt

mburt2@utk.edu
Degree: Master's
Faculty Advisor:
Sanders


Lisa Cantwell

lcantwe1@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Echternacht


Evin T. Carter

ecarte19@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Fitzpatrick


Angela Chuang

achuang1@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Riechert


Sharon Clemmensen

sclemmen@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Hulsey


Joel Corush

jcorush@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Fitzpatrick


Lacy Danikas Chick

ldanikas@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Sanders


Cassie Dresser

cdresser@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Ben Fitzpatrick


Christine Dumoulin

cdumouli@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Armsworth


Aaron Floden

afloden@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Schilling


Rachel Fovargue

rfovargu@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Armsworth


Melquisedec Gamba-Rios

mgambari@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
McCracken


Courtney Gorman

cgorman5@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Bailey


Emma Harrower

eharrowe@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Matheny


Jeremiah Henning

jhennin2@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Classen


Phillip Hollingsworth

phollin1@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Hulsey


Whitaker Hoskins

whoskins@utk.edu
Degree: Master's
Faculty Advisor:
Small


William Howell

whowell@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Gilchrist


Joe Hughes

jhughes@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Gross, Hayes


Gwen Iacona

giacona@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Armsworth


Amanda Janicki

ajanicki@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
McCracken


Ivan Juric

ijuric1@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Gavrilets


Jennifer Krauel

jkrauel@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
McCracken


Sara Kuebbing

skuebbin@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Simberloff


Cedric Landerer

clandere@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Gilchrist


Brian Looney

blooney@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Matheny


Zachary Marion

zmarion@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Fitzpatrick


Kathryn Massana

kmassana@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
O'Meara


Austin Milt

austin.milt@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Armsworth


Leigh Moorhead

lmoorhea@utk.edu
Degree: Master's
Faculty Advisor:
Classen


Cassandra Ott

cott5@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Norby


Christopher Peterson

cpeter22@utk.edu
Degree: Master's
Faculty Advisor:
Echternacht


Alix Pfennigwerth

apfennig@utk.edu
Degree: Master's
Faculty Advisor:
Jen Schweitzer


Quentin Read

qread@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Sanders


John Reese

jreese11@utk.edu
Degree: Master's
Faculty Advisor:
Williams


Maxwell Rupp

mrupp@utk.edu
Degree: Master's
Faculty Advisor:
Hulsey


Marisol Sanchez-Garcia

msanche8@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Matheny


Nate Sutton

nsutton2@utk.edu
Degree: Master's
Faculty Advisor:
Armsworth


Nathan Turnbough

nturnbou@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Echternacht


Michael Van Nuland

mvannula@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Schweitzer


Shelby Ward

sburks3@utk.edu
Degree: Master's
Faculty Advisor:
Armsworth


Ian M. Ware

iware@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Schweitzer, Bailey


Jess Welch

jwelch14@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Simberloff, McCracken


Rachel Wooliver

rwoolive@utk.edu
Degree: Master's
Faculty Advisor:
Schweitzer


Rafael Zenni

rzenni@utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Simberloff

Research Staff



Veronica Brown

Lab Staff
865-974-3699
vabrown@utk.edu


Jennifer Joice

Lab Staff
865-974-1948
jparris@utk.edu

Administrative Staff



Marva Anderson

Admin Staff
865-974-2888
mander16@utk.edu


Anne Mintz

Admin Staff
(865) 974-6041
amintz@utk.edu


Janice Harper

Admin Staff
(865) 974-3065
jharper3@utk.edu


Pearl Kirkland-Smith

Admin Staff
(865) 974-2256
pksmith@utk.edu


Cheryl Lynn

Admin Staff
(865) 974-2810
cjlynn@utk.edu