People

Full Time Faculty



Paul Armsworth

Professor and Associate Head
(865) 974-9748
Conservation, theoretical ecology p.armsworth@utk.edu


Joseph Bailey

Associate Professor
(865) 974-0864
Plant-animal interactions, evolutionary ecology Joe.Bailey@utk.edu


Christine Boake

Professor
(865) 974-2371
Behavioral evolution, genetics cboake@utk.edu


Alison Boyer

Joint ORNL Faculty Assistant Professor
(865) 576-6651
Ecological data management, land use, & conservation alison.boyer@utk.edu


Gordon Burghardt

Alumni Distinguished Service Professor
(865) 974-3300
Comparative behavior, ethology gburghar@utk.edu


Virginia Dale

Joint ORNL Faculty Associate

dalevh@ornl.gov


Arthur Echternacht

Professor
(865) 974-6195
Ecology, herpetology, vertebrate biology echterna@utk.edu


Benjamin Fitzpatrick

Associate Professor
(865) 974-9734
Population genetics, conservation biology benfitz@utk.edu


James Fordyce

Associate Professor
(865) 974-2925 Lab: (865) 974-3902
Evolutionary ecology, plant-insect interactions jfordyce@utk.edu


Sergey Gavrilets

Distinguished Professor
(865) 974-8136 Lab: (865) 974-5217
Theoretical evolutionary biology gavrila@tiem.utk.edu


Michael Gilchrist

Associate Professor
(865) 974-6453 Lab: (865) 974-7356
Theoretical evolutionary biology mikeg@utk.edu


Louis Gross

Professor, Director TIEM
(865) 974-4295
Mathematical ecology gross@tiem.utk.edu, gross@NIMBioS.org


Karen Hughes

Professor
(865) 974-6387
Speciation processes/ hybridization of fungi khughes@utk.edu


Heather Bird Jackson

Research Assistant Professor
(865) 235-9203
basic & applied spatial ecology heatherbirdjackson @gmail.com


Henriette Jager

Joint ORNL Faculty Associate

Theoretical Ecology, Conservation Biology


Susan Kalisz

Professor and Department Head
(865) 974-3065
skalisz@utk.edu


Charles Kwit

Assistant Professor
(865) 974-9793
Conservation, wildlife-plant interactions ckwit@utk.edu


P. Brandon Matheny

Associate Professor
(865) 974-8896
Fungal systematics, evolution, historical biogeography pmatheny@utk.edu


Gary McCracken

Professor
(865) 974-6194
Evolutionary ecology, population genetics gmccrack@utk.edu


Brian O’Meara

Associate Professor
(865) 974-2804
Phylogenetics, macroevolution bomeara@utk.edu


Susan Riechert

Distinguished Service Professor
O: (865) 974-6187 L: (865) 974-2371
Animal behavior, ecology sriecher@utk.edu


Gary Sayler

Professor
(865) 974-8080
Microbiology; Center for Environmental Biotechnology sayler@utk.edu


Edward Schilling

Professor
(865) 974-6200
Plant systematics eschilling@utk.edu


Elisabeth Schussler

Associate Professor, Director of Biology Teaching and Learning
(865) 974-6825
Undergraduate biology education eschuss@utk.edu


Jen Schweitzer

Associate Professor
(865) 974-0856
Community genetics, plant-soil interactions Jen.Schweitzer@utk.edu


Kimberly Sheldon

Assistant Professor (starting Aug 2016)

Biogeography, physiological ecology, tropical ecology Kimberly.Sheldon@uwyo.edu


Daniel Simberloff

Gore Hunger Professor of Environmental Science
(865) 974-0849
Ecology, biogeography dsimberloff@utk.edu


Randall Small

Professor
(865) 974-6207
Plant systematics, molecular evolution rsmall@utk.edu


Joseph Williams Jr.

Professor
(865) 974-6202
Plant evolutionary biology joewill@utk.edu


Eugene Wofford

Research Associate Professor

Vascular plant systematics/ floristics bewofford@utk.edu


Edward Clebsch

Professor Emeritus

botany, ecology eclebsch@utk.edu


David Etnier

Professor Emeritus

Ichthyology, aquatic entomology dipnet@utk.edu


Neil Greenberg

Professor Emeritus
(865) 974-3599
Behavioral ecology, physiological ecology ngreenbe@utk.edu


Tom Hallam

Professor Emeritus

thallam@utk.edu


Ronald Petersen

Professor Emeritus
(865) 974-2256
Mycology repete@utk.edu


David Smith

Associate Professor Emeritus

Bryology dsmith22@utk.edu

Adjunct Faculty



S. Marshall Adams

Adjunct Professor, ORNL

adamssm@ornl.gov


Steven Bartell

Adjunct Professor
(865) 980-0560
steven.bartell@cardno.com


David Buehler

Adjunct Professor, Forestry, Wildlife & Fisheries

dbuehler@utk.edu


Joe Clark

Adjunct Faculty Associate, Southern Appalachian Ecosystem Program

jclark1@utk.edu


Aimée Classen

Associate Professor, University of Copenhagen

Ecosystem ecology, global change aimee.classen@snm.ku.dk


Don DeAngelis

South Florida/Caribbean Field Laboratory

ddeangelis@bio.miami.edu


Boyd Dearden

Adjunct Professor, Forestry, Wildlife & Fisheries

bdearden@utk.edu


Donita Frazier

Adjunct Associate Professor, Comparative Medicine


Todd Freeberg

Adjunct Associate Professor, Psychology
865-974-3975
tfreeber@utk.edu


Barry Goss

Faculty Associate, Science Applications International Corporation


Jerome Grant

Professor, Entomology and Plant Pathology

jgrant@utk.edu


Carol Harden

Professor Emeritus, Geography

charden@utk.edu


Daniel Hayes

Joint Faculty; Assistant Professor University of Maine

daniel.j.hayes@maine.edu


Sally Horn

Professor, Geography

shorn@utk.edu


Colleen Iversen

Adjunct Assistant Professor, ORNL
(865) 241-3961
Ecosystem Ecology iversencm at ornl.gov


Sindhu Jagadamma

Adjunct Assistant Professor, ORNL

jagadammas@ornl.gov


Colleen Jonsson

Adjunct Professor, Microbiology; Director, National Institute for Mathematical and Biological Synthesis

cjonsson@utk.edu


Benjamin Keck

Adjunct Assistant Professor

bkeck@utk.edu


Paris Lambdin

Professor, Entomology and Plant Pathology

plambdin@utk.edu


Mike McKinney

Professor, Earth and Planetary Sciences; Director, Environmental Studies Program

mmckinne@utk.edu


Richard Norby

Staff Scientist, ORNL

rjn@ornl.gov


Ken Orvis

Assistant Professor, Geography

orvis@utk.edu


Charles Parker

Adjunct Professor; Research Aquatic Biologist at Twin Creeks Natural Resource Center

chuck_parker@nbs.gov


Wilfred Post

Staff Scientist, ORNL

wmp@ornl.gov


John Rennie

Emeritus Professor, Forestry, Wildlife and Fisheries

jrennie@utk.edu


Nathan Sanders

Professor, University of Copenhagen

Community ecology, macroecology nathan.sanders@snm.ku.dk


Rich Saudargas

Professor, Psychology

rsaudarg@utk.edu


Terry Schultz

Emeritus Professor, Animal Science


Lee Shugart

Adjunct Associate Professor

lrshugart@nuvox.net


Arthur Stewart

Adjunct Professor

Aquatic Ecotoxicology, Science Education, Poetry astewa11@utk.edu


Richard Strange

Professor, Forestry, Wildlife & Fisheries

rstrange@utk.edu


Jake F. Weltzin

Executive Director, USA National Phenology Network

jweltzin@usgs.gov


David Weston

Adjunct Professor; Staff Scientist, ORNL

westondj@ornl.gov


Steven W. Wilhelm

Professor, Microbiology

wilhelm@utk.edu


Larry Wilson

Professor, Forestry, Wildlife & Fisheries

jlwilson@utk.edu

Lecturers


Graduate Students



Anna Jo Auerbach

ajone139@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Schussler


Sam Borstein

sborstei@vols.utk.edu
Degree: Master's
Faculty Advisor:
O'Meara


Jennifer Bosco

jbosco@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Riechert, O'Meara


Lauren Breza

lbreza@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Bailey


Jordan Bush

jbush15@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Dan Simberloff


Lisa Cantwell

lcantwe1@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Echternacht


Evin T. Carter

ecarte19@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Fitzpatrick


Miranda Chen

mchen31@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Schussler


Angela Chuang

achuang1@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Riechert


Sharon Clemmensen

sclemmen@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Fordyce


Joel Corush

jcorush@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Fitzpatrick


Lacy Danikas Chick

ldanikas@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Sanders


Cassie Dresser

cdresser@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Fitzpatrick


Jessica Pontow Dreyer

jmdreyer@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
McCracken


Christine Dumoulin

cdumouli@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Armsworth


Alex Edwards

aedwar41@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Fitzpatrick


Aaron Floden

afloden@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Schilling


Rachel Fovargue

rfovargu@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Armsworth


Melquisedec Gamba-Rios

mgambari@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
McCracken


Alannie-Grace Grant

agrant11@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Kalisz


Emma Harrower

eharrowe@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Matheny


Domonique Hatton

dhatton@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Riechert


Justin Hendy

jhendy@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Small


Jeremiah Henning

jhennin2@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Classen


Nicole Hergott

nhergott@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Schweitzer


Whitaker Hoskins

whoskins@vols.utk.edu
Degree: Master's
Faculty Advisor:
Small


Amanda Janicki

ajanicki@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
McCracken


Hailee Korotkin

hkorotki@vols.utk.edu
Degree: Master's
Faculty Advisor:
Matheny


Jayne Lampley

jlample5@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Schilling


Cedric Landerer

clandere@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Gilchrist


Joe Larson

jgetting@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Simberloff


Chloe Lash

clash@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Kwit


Diane le Bouille

dlebouil@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Armsworth


Brian Looney

blooney@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Matheny


Zachary Marion

zmarion@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Fitzpatrick


Kathryn Massana

kmassana@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
O'Meara


Chelsea Miller

cmill107@vols.utk.edu
Degree: Master's
Faculty Advisor:
Kwit


Jessica Moore

jbryan44@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Classen


Leigh Moorhead

lmoorhea@vols.utk.edu
Degree: Master's
Faculty Advisor:
Classen


Liam Mueller

lmuelle3@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Schweitzer


Tyson Paulson

TPaulson@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Fordyce


Christopher Peterson

cpeter22@vols.utk.edu
Degree: Master's
Faculty Advisor:
Echternacht


Alix Pfennigwerth

apfennig@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Schweitzer


Todd Pierson

tpierso1@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Fitzpatrick


Tyler Poppenwimer

tpoppenw@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Gross, Bailey


Quentin Read

qread@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Sanders


John Reese

jreese11@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Williams


Maria Daniela Rivarola

mrivarol@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Simberloff


Morgan Roche

mroche2@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Kalisz


Marisol Sanchez-Garcia

msanche8@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Matheny


Lucas Santana Souza

lsantan3@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Gavrilets


Orlando Schwery

oschwery@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
O'Meara


Shelby Scott

sscott41@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Gross


Athmanathan Senthilnathan

asenthil@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Gavrilets


Chad Stachowiak

cstacho1@vols.utk.edu
Degree: Master's
Faculty Advisor:
Armsworth


Nathan Turnbough

nturnbou@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Echternacht


Michael Van Nuland

mvannula@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Schweitzer


Ian M. Ware

iware@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Schweitzer, Bailey


Jess Welch

jwelch14@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Simberloff, McCracken


Rachel Wooliver

rwoolive@vols.utk.edu
Degree: PhD
Faculty Advisor:
Schweitzer


Harmony Yomai

vyomai@vols.utk.edu
Degree: Master's
Faculty Advisor:
Williams

Research Staff



Veronica Brown

Lab Staff
865-974-3699
vabrown@utk.edu


Fred Dolislager

Human Health and Environmental Risk Assessor

fdolislager@utk.edu


Leslie Galloway

Risk Assessment Information System Web Master, Database Manager, and Tool Developer
(865) 574-7906
i65@ornl.gov


Jennifer Joice

Lab Staff
865-974-1948
jparris@utk.edu


Lisa LaForest

Production Manager for Biology in a Box

lwilkins@utk.edu


Debra Stewart

QA/QC Manager for the Risk Assessment Information System
(865) 576-5450
dstewart@utk.edu


Mia Wavrek

Research Coordinator
865-974-3696
mwavrek@utk.edu

Administrative Staff



Marva Anderson

Business Manager
865-974-2888
mander16@utk.edu


Stacie Armsworth

Newsletter/ website maintenance

a.armsworth@utk.edu


Gisela Goeritz

Administrative Specialist II
(865) 974-3065
ggoeritz@utk.edu


Janice Harper

Graduate Secretary/ Administrative Specialist II
(865) 974-3065
jharper3@utk.edu