Ecology & Evolutionary Biology

Undergraduate Advising

Undergraduates interested in majoring in Biology with a concentration in EEB have several advising resources available to them. Shanna Pendergrast (spender1@utk.edu) in the Biological Sciences Undergraduate Advising Center is available to talk to anyone interested in declaring Biology as their major. Declared majors should meet with their assigned faculty advisor. In addition, there are several EEB grad students who are available to mentor undergraduate students. Undergraduates, you are invited to contact the graduate student listed below who best aligns with your field of interest. Graduates, if you are interested in being added to this list as a potential mentor, please contact Jessica Welch at jwelch14@utk.edu.

name year email @vols.utk.edu website lab research interests
Joe Hughes postdoc jhughes Gross
& Hayes
computational ecology, landscape ecology, remote sensing, forest ecology
Lisa Cantwell 5th lcantwe1 sites.google.com/site/lisarcantwell/ Echternacht animal behavior, herpetology, behavioral ecology
Jessica Moore 5th jbryan44 web.utk.edu/~jbryan44/Home.html Classen ecosystem ecology, microbial ecology, soil ecology, mycology, biogeochemistry
Jessica Welch 4th jwelch14 sites.google.com/site/jessicanicolewelch/ McCracken
& Simberloff
species invasion, conservation, bat biology, natural history
Quentin Read 3rd qread sites.google.com/site/quentinread/ Sanders plant traits, climate change, community ecology, rocky mountains
Joel Corush 3rd jcorush Fitzpatrick fish, phylogeography, population structure
Michael Van Nuland 3rd mvannula michaelvannuland.com Schweitzer evolutionary ecology, plant ecology, above- and below-ground interactions, climate change, range shifts, urban ecology
Jeremiah Henning 3rd jhennin2 sites.google.com/site/jeremiahahenning Classen climate change, symbiosis, mutualism, plant-fungal interactions
Katie Massana 3rd kmassana O’Meara phylogenetics, biogeography, endemism, diversification, conservation
Angela Chuang 2nd achuang1 Riechert behavioral ecology, invasion biology, arachnology

 

Contribute to a big idea. Give to EEB.


The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Knoxville, Tennessee 37996 | 865-974-1000
The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System