Ecology & Evolutionary Biology

Undergraduate Advising

Undergraduates interested in majoring in Biology with a concentration in EEB have several advising resources available to them. Shanna Pendergrast (spender1@utk.edu) in the Biological Sciences Undergraduate Advising Center is available to talk to anyone interested in declaring Biology as their major. Declared majors should meet with their assigned faculty advisor. In addition, there are several EEB grad students who are available to mentor undergraduate students. Undergraduates, you are invited to contact the graduate student listed below who best aligns with your field of interest. Graduates, if you are interested in being added to this list as a potential mentor, please contact Jessica Welch at jwelch14@utk.edu.

name email @utk.edu website lab research interests
Mark Genung mgenung sites.google.com/site/markgenungeeb Bailey community ecology, pollination biology, rapid evolution, statistical ecology
Joe Hughes jhughes Gross
& Hayes
computational ecology, landscape ecology, remote sensing, forest ecology
Lisa Cantwell lcantwe1 sites.google.com/site/lisarcantwell/ Echternacht animal behavior, herpetology, behavioral ecology
Jessica Welch jwelch14 sites.google.com/site/jessicanicolewelch/ McCracken
& Simberloff
species invasion, conservation, bat biology, natural history
Quentin Read qread sites.google.com/site/quentinread/ Sanders plant traits, climate change, community ecology, rocky mountains
Will Howell whowell Gilchrist bioinformatics, molecular evolution, codon usage
Joel Corush jcorush Fitzpatrick fish, phylogeography, population structure
Katie Massana kmassana O’Meara
& Schilling
phylogenetics, biogeography, endemism, diversification, conservation
Walt Andrews wandrew6 Bailey plant ecology and evolution, fragmentation, biodiversity function and conservation

Contribute to a big idea. Give to EEB.


The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Knoxville, Tennessee 37996 | 865-974-1000
The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System