Skip to content

Undergraduate Advising

Undergraduates interested in majoring in Biology with a concentration in EEB have several advising resources available to them. Shanna Pendergrast ( in the Biological Sciences Undergraduate Advising Center is available to talk to anyone interested in declaring Biology as their major. Declared majors should meet with their assigned faculty advisor. In addition, there are several EEB grad students who are available to mentor undergraduate students.

EEB Grads Mentoring Undergrads Program

For more information about this program, please view the Mentoring Flier.  Undergraduates interested in participating are invited to contact the graduate student listed below who best aligns with his or her field of interest. Graduates, if you are interested in being added to this list as a potential mentor, please contact Jessica Welch at

name year email website lab research interests
Joe Hughes postdoc jhughes Gross
& Hayes
computational ecology, landscape ecology, remote sensing, forest ecology
Jessica Welch 6th jwelch14 McCracken
& Simberloff
conservation, species invasion, prioritization, natural history, bat biology
Joel Corush 5th jcorush Fitzpatrick fish, phylogeography, population structure
Jeremiah Henning 5th jhennin2 Classen climate change, symbiosis, mutualism, plant-fungal interactions
Katie Massana 5th kmassana O’Meara phylogenetics, biogeography, endemism, diversification, conservation
Angela Chuang 4rd achuang1 Riechert behavioral ecology, invasion biology, arachnology
Jordan Bush 3rd jbush15 Simberloff animal behavior, behavioral ecology,
invasion biology, herpetology
Todd Pierson 3rd tpierso1 Fitzpatrick phylogenetics, phylogeography, population genetics, herpetology
Chelsea Miller 3rd cmill107 Kwit species rarity, plant-­insect interactions, conservation
Orlando Schwery 3rd oschwery O’Meara phylogenetics, diversification, trait evolution, biogeography
Shelby Scott 2nd sscott41 Gross island ecology, agent-­ based modeling, applications of GIS data
Hailee Korotkin 2nd hkorotki Matheny fungal-bryophyte interactions, fungal trophic strategies, fungal genomics
Chloe Lash 2nd clash Kwit plant insect interactions, ant seed dispersal, mutualisms, microbes
Athmanathan Senthilnathan 2nd asenthil Gavrilets theoretical evolution, population dynamics, animal movement, collective behavior


The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.