Ecology & Evolutionary Biology

Undergraduate Advising

Undergraduates interested in majoring in Biology with a concentration in EEB have several advising resources available to them. Shanna Pendergrast ( in the Biological Sciences Undergraduate Advising Center is available to talk to anyone interested in declaring Biology as their major. Declared majors should meet with their assigned faculty advisor. In addition, there are several EEB grad students who are available to mentor undergraduate students.

EEB Grads Mentoring Undergrads Program

For more information about this program, please view the Mentoring Flier.  Undergraduates interested in participating are invited to contact the graduate student listed below who best aligns with his or her field of interest. Graduates, if you are interested in being added to this list as a potential mentor, please contact Jessica Welch at

name year email website lab research interests
Joe Hughes postdoc jhughes Gross
& Hayes
computational ecology, landscape ecology, remote sensing, forest ecology
Jessica Welch 5th jwelch14 McCracken
& Simberloff
species invasion, conservation, bat biology, natural history
Joel Corush 4th jcorush Fitzpatrick fish, phylogeography, population structure
Jeremiah Henning 4th jhennin2 Classen climate change, symbiosis, mutualism, plant-fungal interactions
Katie Massana 4th kmassana O’Meara phylogenetics, biogeography, endemism, diversification, conservation
Angela Chuang 3rd achuang1 Riechert behavioral ecology, invasion biology, arachnology
Whitaker Hoskins  3rd whoskins Small genetics, biogeography, botany, mycology, biological processes
Jordan Bush 2nd jbush15 Simberloff animal behavior, behavioral ecology,
invasion biology, herpetology
Todd Pierson 2nd tpierso1 Fitzpatrick phylogenetics, phylogeography, population genetics, herpetology
Chelsea Miller 2nd cmill107 Kwit species rarity, plant-­insect interactions, conservation
Orlando Schwery 2nd oschwery O’Meara phylogenetics, diversification, trait evolution, biogeography
Shelby Scott 1st sscott41 Gross island ecology, agent-­ based modeling, applications of GIS data


Contribute to a big idea. Give to EEB.

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Knoxville, Tennessee 37996 | 865-974-1000
The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System